Clear all

HOW TO WRITE AN ARTICLE FOR PUBLICATION IN AN OLD-TIME RADIO NEWSLETTER

2 Posts
1 Users
2 Likes
(@lm-reps)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

If you think you can never get anything published, you may be surprised by how easy it is if you try.

Editors are always short of new, fresh copy and are constantly looking for submissions from new writers who are enthusiastic about their subject.

You can write an article on any old-time radio subject you choose.  First, you need to decide on a topic.  What do you feel enthusiastic enough about to want to share with others in print?  Do you have a favorite series?  Do you have any episodes in your collection you think are rare?  Do you have a theme such as suicide, murder, romance, war, humor, horror or prophesy that you would like to base your article on?  Would you like to write episode summaries of a favorite series that carries a story line from one day or week to the next?  As a former editor, I assure you that these will interest any current editor.

When you have decided on a subject, one of the most important things to do is outline your article before you write it.  It is the outline you will submit to an editor, which will determine whether he is interested enough to encourage you to proceed. It does not need to be a formal, textbook outline but can instead be a simple list (1-through-10, for example) of what you plan to cover in the article itself.

The first step in composing the article is to write an introduction describing your subject and stating what you intend to say about it.  Then, when you write the article, devote a paragraph to each of the topics you want to include in it, and finish by writing a conclusion.